The Ultimate Strapless by Wonderbra

Wonderbra Ultimate Strapless

1-Wonderbra While physics has always been an elusive subject for me, the many lessons on gravity provided ground for some serious doubt regarding the words strapless, well supported and my boobs in the same sentence. Hell, even paragraph!

IMGP9745 For a long time, even after my bra enlightenment (doesn’t make the gals any lighter though, does it..?!) I simply disregarded the strapless bra along with the strapless dress, narrow strapped dress or anything sleeveless really, in general. For my graduation however I began to hunt for this device, which should basically be able to defy the law of physics!

I devoured Cheryl’s brilliantly written IIYC post on different strapless bras and decided to purchase Panache Evie in the bridal (aka less boring) version. It ended up unused for the celebration itself but worked more or less okay (complete review here). OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA While it didn’t bend any laws, it held well enough for me to keep looking. My second attempt, the Freya Taylor Strapless was a disaster – partially damaged by the shipping perhaps, it folded completely underneath the weight of my zeppelins!

Then a rumour began to spread through the community, after Wonderbra decided to expand the size range of the Ultimate Strapless up to a G cup. Some pretty impressive marketing behind that name, huh?

Construction, Design and Size Range

The construction of the bra seemed to prevent the disaster of the Taylor – not unlike a corset, the bra has plastic lining inside in the shape of fingers, holding up the bust. The plastic is sturdy, takes most of the weight and provides support and shape.

306_default_716 At the same time, as it is Wonderbra, it has some pretty impressive cleavage! The wide elastic band really works more as a strap holding the bra to your body rather than support – and is lined with silicone to minimize the bra slipping down your ribcage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I was not joking when I called it a device. It looks massive in the G cup and a little scary until you put it on. However the contraption works well and molds to the body so it is pretty much invisible under clothes.

It might be also useful to point out that unlike many strapless bras, this one doesn’t offer the option of convertible or classic attached straps – it is ultimately strapless.The bra now comes in 30-38 A-G, in three basic block colours (black, white, beige) and three lace colourways (black, creme and red).

Reviews

After reading many reviews on Figleaves, the review at B4J and FFFB’s post with commentary by Sophie Morgan, who is basically my size (and who sister-sized) I decided to take a chance on a strapless bra just outside of my size range. Many of the reviews on Figleaves suggest the band is extra tight. I would be cautious with stating this. The band is definitely not loose or stretchy however I would say it is fairly true to size. As I am now more in the 30H territory, I had to sister size quite far and purchased a 34G. The cup size is exactly true to size and fit well. To hold the weight properly I believe the band is made firm but I wouldn’t size up!

Fit

My first attempt was a fail as it was to be expected – the band was so loose it just slid down. I thought I would have to take the band in but then inspiration hit me like a Bludger! I combined the strapless with my What Katie Did corset to tighten the band and provide extra support in the back …and MAGIC HAPPENED!

The Zeppelins floated proudly, displaying my, ehm qualities and the whole ensemble was (while clashing in colours) very comfortable! As I had to upsize with the band due to cup limitations (G cup), I cannot comment on how well the band sits when sized properly, but for longer wear I believe many would appreciate the extra support of the corset which stops the bra from sliding down your ribcage. As I stated above, the cups are absolutely true to size and fit well. Unlike my other attempts, this combination provided great support and shape, which didn’t waver over time or with movement.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Luckily my skin doesn’t have any problem with the silicone stripes – quite a few of the comments at B4J warned about the new silicone Wonderbra has been using recently!

Look Under Clothes

Curiously enough, the bra looks quite similar to Deco under clothes – smooth, round and upheld, perhaps a bit wider. When worn with the PUG Monica Dress for which it was originally purchased, it gives an option of ample cleavage without the “spilled boob look”.

Teamed with the corset, it supports me so well I might use it for options with straps where I need subtle cleavage, too. And finally, I can say hello to halter neck (so flattering for an hourglass figure), strapless dresses and sheer shoulder tops!

Overview

The Wonderbra Ultimate Strapless really lives up to its name. Luckily, when teamed with a corset it is available beyond the G cup advertised and basically becomes an overbust extension of the corset. While I cannot judge how well the bra works on its own when sized properly, with my What Katie Did under bust it was the very best strapless contraption that I have ever warn!

Have you tried the Ultimate Strapless? Does it work as well on its own? Have you experienced any marks from the silicon stripes? Let me know below!

Wonderbra Ultimate Strapless

Available in sizes 30-38 A-G

Retails at £34:00 for the plain and £36.00 for the lace bra

One thought on “The Ultimate Strapless by Wonderbra

  1. I know I am way late to this party but that red dress on you is TO DIE FOR. Stand tall and walk in like you own the whole damn room!

Leave a Reply

